CDS News

Find out what’s been happening at CDS!

Georgina Kleege named NYU Steinhardt 2022-2023 Scholar-in-Residence

This announcement was originally posted on NYU Steinhardt News on September 20, 2022. NYU Steinhardt is excited to announce that Georgina Kleege will serve as a Dean’s Scholar-in-Residence for the 2022-2023 academic year.  During this time, Kleege will collaborate with the Department of Media, Culture, and Communication (MCC) as well as the NYU Center for Disability

Read More »
Miyuki Tanaka holding a microphone at her mouth while looking off camera.
General
NYU CDS

Announcing our Summer 2022 Visiting Scholar

The NYU Center for Disability Studies is pleased to announce our Visiting Scholar this Summer, Miyuki Tanaka. Miyuki Tanaka is an independent curator and producer. She has been working on projects that defy categorization under the theme of “disability as a perspective that redefines the world.” She produces exhibitions, performances, and various projects to rethink the way we

Read More »

Disability and the Digital

Conversations Across Sociology, Cultural Studies and Disability Studies Event Dates CO-OPTING AI: QUEER Co-opting AI: QueerAPRIL 7TH 202212-1 PM EST | 6 – 7 PM CEST | 7 – 8 PM TRT QUESTIONING SMART URBAN MOBILITY APRIL 28TH 202212-1 PM EST | 6 – 7 PM CEST | 7 – 8 PM TRT REFUSAL AND

Read More »

Proclaiming Disability Arts

New York University’s Center for Disability Studies is pleased to announce a major book and community engagement project, Proclaiming Disability Arts, directed by Simi Linton, along with Co-Principal Investigator Mara Mills. Proclaiming Disability Arts builds on this moment in Disability Arts, mapping histories and engaging its meaning, impact, and transformative potential throughout the art worlds.

Read More »

Announcing Our 2021-2022 Visiting Scholars

The NYU Center for Disability Studies is pleased to announce our Visiting Scholars for 2021-2022 Indyara de Araujo Morais is a Fulbright Fellow from Brazil, part of the Ph.D. program in Public Health at the University of Brasilia. Her research is on the Brazilian Functional Index, which was built based on the International Classification of

Read More »

Welcome NYU CDS RA Destiny Lopez

The NYU Center for Disability Studies is pleased to welcome Destiny as our 2021-2022 Center RA. Welcome to Destiny Lopez, the NYU Center for Disability Studies RA for 2021-2022. Destiny is a Multimedia Storyteller and advocate for accessible and inclusive media. She holds both a Master of Arts (’20) and a Bachelor of Science (’16)

Read More »
Scroll to Top